To Succor Another

by Lorinda Turley

Monday, Wednesday & Friday mornings M, I & myself drive 40 minutes one-way to swimming.  It’s early, so we often listen to an audiobook.

Recently, our book of choice was Shannon Hale’s The Goose Girl.  One morning a specific conversation between the two female protagonists struck me.  “And when you get tired of worrying and mourning…and trying not to be afraid, tell me and I’ll do it for you a while so you can shut your eyes and sleep peaceful.”

Our little J is awaiting his final open-heart surgery.  In preparation, two procedures were recently performed: a cardiac MRI & a cardiac catheterization.  To be clear, either procedure would be an ordeal for most adults let alone a three-year old.

The day of his procedures was long.

After little J was under general anesthesia, I sent C off to work.  He was to rejoin us that evening with dinner and then spend the night with J as I went home to be with our other kids.

The procedures took 7 hours, during which the nurse updated me every hour.  Finally, the nurse came out with, “we should be finished in 30-45 minutes, and I will be out to get you.”

45 minutes came, then 60…75…90 minutes.

I was now in a calm-faced panic and needed that female protagonist willing to be afraid for me.

We are asked to “succor the weak, lift up the hands which hang down, and strengthen the feeble knees.” 1

In that moment of panic I found succor in the example of another.

This picture (below), I viewed on Facebook a few weeks earlier, succored me.

1240286_10202199647220996_1311092358_n

My friend stands with her few-week-old baby, two-year-old son & husband before he boards a bus for deployment…with a SMILE.

I am blessed to have friendships with many women who exhibit the same strength as the one above.  Women whose role to care for their children, household, everything – ALONE – and bear a restless concern for the safety of their spouse who is away.

Six hours and counting no longer felt stressful.

Her fortitude, unbeknownst to her, did “succor the weak”  and for that I am grateful.

I found succor in the picture of a friend…ultimately in her Christlike example, for He is the one who truly succors us all.

Where have you found succor in your life?

