Personal Patience

by Lorinda Turley

DSC_0006

Personal seems a funny term to use on a blog post…possibly it’s private that makes less sense.

I enjoy learning the details of a person’s life; it draws me to them. Each of us possess a distinct story that fashions who we are.

As I write the details of my life I am reminded of my strengths and more often my weaknesses.

Writing is my escape. It provides clarity and calm in fuzzy, frustrated moments.

I write to understand the purpose and meaning behind an experience.

Journal keeping is another term for it. I am a journal keeper and have been for years.

I rarely journal at a scheduled time, our children’s milestones are my most “scheduled” entries. Occasionally I feel prompted to record an experience but mostly it’s in moments that necessitate calming.

As I read past entries during times of struggle I am embarrassed for recording, hardly believing, how I felt so strongly in such hurtful ways.

Then the moments that I am grateful to have recorded when the loving hand of my Heavenly Father is evident.

Finally, the adorable stories of our children are some of my favorites and I am reminded that I do not write them down enough.

Yet, most often are the seemingly recurring moments of my life…impatience, ingratitude, exhaustion, frustration and utter befuddlement.

That is how personal fits in…my bewilderment in His plan for my life. Do you encounter moments where you feel overshadowed by uncertainty?

I know I am on His path but the end purpose in our current situation is fuzzy. C and I have been seeking direction, for several years, in a specific area of our lives. Nothing of alarming consequence, just guidance.

I continue to study, pray, journal, serve and clarity continues to allude me.

Gratefully, peace does not as my mind returns to this quote~

“What, then, does it mean to wait upon the Lord? In the scriptures, the word wait means to hope, to anticipate, and to trust. To hope and trust in the Lord requires faith, patience, humility, meekness, long-suffering, keeping the commandments, and enduring to the end.

To wait upon the Lord means planting the seed of faith and nourishing it “with great diligence, and … patience.”

I have peace. I know His purposes will be clear in His time.

While fuzziness is frustrating, faith is what He asks for.

So in faith I wait.

